View Our Facebook PageView Our Facebook PageView Our Facebook Page
Your Guide to Cultural
Arts in America
Art Museums, Theater, Dance
& Music Happenings in 90+ Cities!
or go to
Arts America Blogs

Spanish Grand Prix: short review

The Spanish Grand Prix, also called Gran Premio de Espana by the Spanish people, is one of the most exciting Formula 1 races in the championship. Over the years, some very exciting races took place here and fans are always very excited in the days before the race. Here are some interesting facts about the Spanish Grand Prix.

Grand Prix

Where Does it Take Place?

The Grand Prix is held in Barcelona, on the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. This circuit is one of the oldest tracks in the world that still holds an annual Grand Prix race without heavy modernization processed taken place. It already passed the 100 year-mark back in 2013 and history continues to be made here.

Who Dominates the Track?

Talking about history, the Spanish Grand Prix is quite an unusual one in terms of winners. The title for most wins is held by the one and only Michael Schumacher with 6 Spanish Grand Prix titles under his belt and it’s no surprise that the team that has the most wins here is Ferrari with 12 championships. Unfortunately for the Spanish fans, the most successful Spanish F1 driver Fernando Alonso only managed to win here 2 times. His first win came only a year after he joined Formula 1, back in 2006 and he last won the title in Spain in 2013 when he was already at Ferrari. Other notable results that Alonso managed to get on his home circuit are a second-place finish in 2003 and 2005, a third-spot finish in 2007 followed by two other second places that he managed to take in 2010 and 2012.

Now that the F1 season is over, the huge fans of the Spanish Grand Prix will already be asking at what time does the Spanish Grand Prix start, knowing that they have another 6 months until being able to watch the race live.